ACD Test Wordpress

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Tolkien v. Wagner

Posted by acdtest on December 16, 2003

Tolkien v. Wagner

ew Yorker music critic Alex Ross does a comparison of Wagner’s and Tolkien’s Rings. Despite a confused parenthetical quasi-disquisition on major and minor harmonies wherein Ross (who I know knows better) seems to suggest that the prelude to Das Rheingold is in C major (it’s in E-flat major), it’s an article worth reading, most particularly for Tolkien freaks, among whom I do not count myself.

UPDATE (22 December at 1:10 AM Eastern): Alex Ross replies (via eMail):

When I wrote, “From one deep note, wave upon wave of majestic harmony flows,” I decided not to specify E-flat as the note in question in order to avoid throwing too many particulars at the non-musical reader. Admittedly, my compromise formulation could be read as saying that the Ring begins in C. A classic dilemma: on the one hand, I run the risk of expert readers saying, “This guy doesn’t know what he’s talking about”; and on the other, I run the risk of non-expert readers saying, “I don’t know what this guy is talking about.” To my way of thinking, the latter risk is more serious.
Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
